• Nikolaj

Draft List of Countries Permitted to Enter EU When Borders Reopen on July 1

The citizens of 54 world countries will benefit from the reopening of the European Union external borders, which is expected to happen by the beginning of July.

EU officials failed to agree on a common list of the countries that would definitely be banned from entering the block upon the border reopening but managed to create a list of the countries with a better epidemiological situation, the citizens of which will be able to enter Europe by the end of next week.

EU have also mentioned that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia will only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

Nationals of the following countries are listed in this draft list:

  1. Albania

  2. Algeria

  3. Andorra

  4. Angola

  5. Australia

  6. Bahamas

  7. Bhutan

  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina

  9. Canada

  10. China

  11. Costa Rica

  12. Cuba

  13. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

  14. Dominica

  15. Egypt

  16. Ethiopia

  17. Georgia

  18. Guyana

  19. India

  20. Indonesia

  21. Jamaica

  22. Japan

  23. Kazakhstan

  24. Kosovo

  25. Lebanon

  26. Mauritius

  27. Monaco

  28. Mongolia

  29. Montenegro

  30. Morocco

  31. Mozambique

  32. Myanmar

  33. Namibia

  34. New Zealand

  35. Nicaragua

  36. Palau

  37. Paraguay

  38. Rwanda

  39. Saint Lucia

  40. Serbia

  41. South Korea

  42. Tajikistan

  43. Thailand

  44. Tunisia

  45. Turkey

  46. Turkmenistan

  47. Uganda

  48. Ukraine

  49. Uruguay

  50. Uzbekistan

  51. Vatican City

  52. Venezuela

  53. Vietnam

  54. Zambia

The European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers. The decisions are based on health criteria.

On June 11, the Commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did pre-pandemic.

At the same time, the Commission recommended that the Member States should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in each third-country.

The Commission recommended the following objective criteria for the Member States, when drafting the list of countries, the citizens of which may visit the EU after July 1:

  • epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in that country,

  • the ability to apply containment measures during travel, an

  • whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.

Source: The European Commission

8 views0 comments